Field Hockey World Cup Winners List


International Hockey Federation (FIH) organizes field hockey world cup in every four years time span. The inaugural edition of hockey world cup was played in 1971 which was hosted by Spain in Barcelona. Since then 13 events have been concluded till 2014 and the next tournament will be played in 2018. Pakistan hockey team won the first hockey world championship by defeating Spain in the final by 1-0.

Hockey World Cup Winners List.

Hockey World Cup Trophy

Pakistan is the most successful team in the history of hockey world cup as they are the champions of 4 time. They won prestigious hockey championship in 1971, 1978, 1982 and 1994. Netherlands and Australia have also won hockey world cup 3-3 times each. Germany also won FIH field hockey world cup two times in 2002 and 2006. India also became world hockey champion once in 1975.

The next 14th edition of hockey world cup is scheduled to be played in India in 2018. Let’s have a look at the complete list of winners and runners-up in the competition so far.

Hockey World Cup Champions

Countries with number of titles and years

Author Bio


No Description or Default Description Here